Cotati Historic Walking Tour
Led by local historians, the Cotati Historic Walking Tour covers homes and businesses in the central Cotati area, surrounding the unique LaPlaza Park. It is described in brochures available at the Cotati Chamber of Commerce, 216 E. School St., Cotati, CA.
The city's location on the Old Redwood Highway made it a popular stopping-off spot for travelers to the Russian River and redwood forests, and restaurants and taverns still predominate among downtown businesses. Some downtown buildings were constructed of lumber used to construct the Cotati Speedway, a banked wooden auto racing track that saw world's records set during its brief existence in 1921-22.
Length of Walking Tour: Approx. 1.5 miles
LaPlaza Park, where walkers will see statues of a bigger-than-lifesize Jim Boggio, founder of the annual Accordion Festival and Chief Kotate, leader of the Coast Miwok tribe from whom Cotati takes its name. Also of note is the plaque identifying the hexagonal LaPlaza Park as one of only two in the U.S., and California Historical Landmark #879.
The walking tour is on level ground; accessible restrooms are located in LaPlaza Park near the bandstand.
One section of LaPlaza Park has been landscaped as a demonstration garden with drought-resistant plants and ecologically friendly materials.
Cotati loves animals, but dogs are required to be leashed.